RSS

The Losers Loss

06 Nov

Don’t lose weight.

 

Yes, I know the entire world is harping on obesity and that you should exercise and eat right or you will die (yawn).  What you should also know is that you have more to lose than losing weight, when if and how you lose it.

 

1)     Food tastes good. Period. When you diet, you eat less food, and thereby you voluntarily removed happiness from your life. And even if you go on Weight Watcher which lets you eat everything, the only reason they let you eat everything is because the assign a gadrillion points to the good stuff and hope you’ll choose rabbit food, just so you can eat more (even though you’re probably better off eating those cookies and starving the rest of the day because celery just doesn’t cut it)

 

2)     You’ll have to buy new clothes. I know this sounds like a good thing, but it’s really not. You have your wardrobe now, you like it, it’s you. You spent good time and money adjusting it to your taste, and yes, that black dress does fit you too perfectly, in a good way. There will be no such thing as favorite sweater; maybe it can be your new favorite bag. And considering the economy, you really cannot afford a new wardrobe that is up to your standards

 

3)     You will ruin your self esteem. No one thinks you’re fat. Yes, we can all probably drop 5 pounds, but you’re not morbidly obese. When you lose weight, all of a sudden everyone will tell you “Wow, you look amazing, how much did you lose…” and you will come away from that exchange with the thoughts…what did I look like before, and you will go home and cry and write in your diary “I am ugly”. You’re better off not knowing what you looked like before by making no after in the first place.

 

4)     People will stop complimenting you. When you are of average size, people look out for you. They want to make you feel good, because they want you to reciprocate, because they feel connection, solidarity between the two of you. People have expectations of skinny people. They don’t feel that solidarity, and assume that your perfectly matched ensemble happened by itself. They think you don’t need the compliment, or acknowledgment, especially not from them, because skinny people are their own breed. Only skinny people can compliment skinny people.

 

5)     Skinny people have no personality. They don’t need one because they are skinny. Although I’m sure won’t need your personality when you’re skinny, you will miss it, and if you don’t everyone else you know will and they will start looking for it, and in their desperate search they will abandon you and you will be left alone and friendless, but you will be skinny, so I’m not sure if that matters.

6)  And for you girls where besides for weight, everyone is harping on tznius…skinny people can’t get away with anything. When you are skinny everyone is looking for your collarbone and knees (well, they are little more obvious). Everyone gives fat and average people a free pass. They get that collars needs to be little lower to accommodate your girth. And clothes aren’t tight, they are just tailored for your frame for maximum effect…It’s hard to find someone calling an average girl a “prutzah”, skinny girls come with label and have to prove that it doesn’t apply.

 

In all honesty, I just lost 10 pounds. My clothes don’t fit, and my sisters and friends are already calling dibs. I like my clothes…and they just might be worth 10 pounds.

 
14 Comments

Posted by on November 6, 2008 in Food

 

Tags: , , , , ,

14 responses to “The Losers Loss

  1. Child Ish Behavior

    November 6, 2008 at 5:39 pm

    I couldn’t agree with you more. That being said, if you could eat as much as you wanted and still be skinny I’d take that choice.

     
  2. stam

    November 6, 2008 at 5:41 pm

    i hear ya, i’ve gained and dropped weight a few different times over the past 4 years. of course it all comes back to different spots so my “fat” clothes from the previous heavy stage won’t fit during another heavy stage. same for thin stages. it’s all pretty ridiculous. 🙂

     
  3. The Babysitter

    November 6, 2008 at 5:54 pm

    Actually it’s very funny to see this, because just a few days ago I wrote as my FB status: “‘Babysitter’ doesn’t like when people become skinny!”

    About #1, I actually read in readers digest once that it’s better to eat stuff you like, so that you’ll eat less, then to eat “healthy” stuff you don’t like, cause then you will keep eating because you figure it’s “healthy” and then you end up gaining more weight from that.

    I agree with everything you said. But to begin with I never went on a diet, so I can’t really relate to the one loosing the weight. But I can relate to how I view those that lost weight.

    Recently I saw a old school friend by her vort, she was my best friend throughout elementry school, and we kept in touch in HS even though we were in different schools, but after that somehow we lost a bit of contact. So now all of a sudden I saw her by her vort and she changed so much and became skinny, and I just didn’t like it. Not that I wasn’t happy for her. Just that I remember her from how she used to look, she was average, and now all of a sudden she became different, so it was like something was missing from her. She just wasn’t the same.

    Then again when I was in sleep away camp a while ago, my mother came up to visit me, and she surprised me by loosing weight, and she was actually wearing the same shirt as I was that day. It just freaked me out, and I didn’t like the way she looked, I wanted her to gain her weight back again, so that she will be the old her.

    One of my teachers who was actually heavy, said that her grandchildren love her that way, cause this way there’s more to hug.

     
  4. tooyoungtoteach

    November 6, 2008 at 5:59 pm

    Yeah. I’m skinny, and my family won’t let me live it down.

    I’ve stopped hugging family members as they feel the need to comment how I’m not worth hugging cause there’s nothing to hug.

    I’m really feeling loved and special right now.

    I also just realized I have a 6th point to make, so I’m going to amend the post.

     
  5. The Babysitter

    November 6, 2008 at 6:25 pm

    TooYoungToTeach: I knew you were skinny, and I just realized that what I had wrote might not have been so nice, that it might have offended you, but I didn’t mean it that way.

    So long as I first meet a skinny person then I’m ok with it, if that’s the image I get when I think of them. But if it goes from one extreme to another then it’s hard.

    Now that I think about it, skinny people get teased probably more than heavy people. Because by heavy people you know to be careful not hurt their feelings, and by skinny people you just think they have it all good so you don’t think they mind the teasing. You probably already said that in one of your points.

    But also reminds me of a post, you might enjoy reading from “In The Pink:
    A throwaway Remark

    and yea, that’s true about the tznius aspect too.
    Now, I’m being sympathetic.

     
  6. tooyoungtoteach

    November 6, 2008 at 6:35 pm

    I was not offended, don’t worry…I’m skinny, that’s all that matters in life…I have no personality to offend 😉

     
  7. Princess Lea

    November 6, 2008 at 6:57 pm

    Hey, I’m a big fan of the “If you don’t eat right you die” philosophy. I’m that wild eyed person standing on street corners howling about the evils of margarine and white flour (DOOOOM!!!!)

    Now, sweetie, from one of Hungarian descent to another, weight is always on the table. Your grandmother must be ecstatic. As for myself, I was a rather . . . plump adolescent, and after shooting up a couple of feet and casually weaning myself off of the nastier things that can be in one’s pantry, I am at a point that I am happy with myself.

    Last year I lost 5 pounds, but thank God my little black dress still fits (it’s irreplaceable). My wardrobe, instead of abandoning me, merely fits better.

     
  8. Mikeinmidwood

    November 7, 2008 at 5:10 am

    I myself have lost some weight not that I planned on losing and none have noticed or seem to care I didnt even notice till I stepped on a scale by mistake.

     
  9. Moshe

    November 7, 2008 at 6:44 am

    I know I should lose some weight, though I’d never diet to do it.

     
  10. EndOfWorld

    November 9, 2008 at 11:09 pm

    what to say, what to say? so many comments, so little time. I guess I’ll just have to restrain my twitching fist from punching the screen and make do with this snarky comment: it’s always the skinny people who talk about how dieting is overrated. You’ll rarely see an overweight person taking that stance. Skinny people can do that and get away with it. When overweight people say that, people just roll their eyes.

    Anyway, overweight people have their own tznius problems. No one wants to admit that the tummy bulge is here to stay, so they insist on squeezing into a size that they left behind long ago.

     
  11. Testing New Avator

    November 10, 2008 at 1:41 am

    End of World: What happened to your blog?

    TooYoungToTeach: she does make a good point.

     
  12. EndOfWorld

    November 10, 2008 at 2:48 am

    congrats on losing 10 pounds, though. if you need to gain them, I just baked some yummy brownie cake…..mmmmm

     
  13. EndOfWorld

    November 10, 2008 at 8:12 am

    testing: my blog is on hold for the moment.

     
  14. The Jewish Side

    November 10, 2008 at 2:48 pm

    EndOfWorld: ahh ok, cause I thought I saw it say something about invite only readers, so I was wondering if you made it private.

     

Leave a Reply

 
