RSS

Tried and Failed

04 Nov

They broke out play in school yesterday.

 

That meant that instead of teaching 3 periods yesterday, I taught one.

 

A friend of mine is heading the play, so I sat in on a few try-outs.

 

It was camp all over again.

 

Except this time, I knew the girls, they were my students, and I felt bad for them.

 

I wanted to explain away every bad audition the second the girl left the room.

 

“She’s really brilliant!”

“You should know she’s an excellent writer.”

“That girl is the sweetest thing ever.”

“She’s very organized.”

 

As though their other assets would make up for their obvious lack in talent.

 

My friend wasn’t impressed.

 

Still, I ask.

 

Why do they try out?

 
6 Comments

Posted by on November 4, 2008 in Teaching

 

Tags: , , , ,

6 responses to “Tried and Failed

  1. frumcollegegirl

    November 4, 2008 at 7:07 pm

    he he…in my hs, when we had the concert (or play, or production, or wtvr you want to call it) everyone had to try out for choir. that way, if a girl had absolutely no talent, she could be dumped in choir and told she “got it” cuz it’s alot easier to drown out one bad singer with other voices, than it is to cover up a bad dancer.

     
  2. JellybeanLover

    November 5, 2008 at 1:23 am

    ye… when we had to try out for song dance/acting choir we had to sing a song with motions and it wasnt allowed to be i ran around the corner…me and my friend made a song up and they loved it they made us do it twice but yes i still wonder why people try out when they have no talent for acting or when they sing a song with their version (they have no idea what the words are) still very funnt to watch haha =)

     
  3. EndOfWorld

    November 5, 2008 at 5:46 am

    I voted that I “have have” every talent. I’m assuming the extra have is to further emphasize the glorious scope of my talents

     
  4. In Love

    November 5, 2008 at 6:14 pm

    i’m ususally pretty impressed with what you to say – but hello?? why so degrading – not every person realises that in tha particular area they are not very talented – abit of understanding for others! not talking from experience – cos me? i’m good at everything 😉

     
  5. tooyoungtoteach

    November 5, 2008 at 6:40 pm

    I’m not trying to be degrading, I’m just trying to get the psyche behind it.

    Is it because they don’t know they don’t have the talent, because they think maybe just in case, a peer pressure thing, a “who cares” might as well, or I don’t know, I’m asking you.

    I can’t answer myself, because well, I’m just like you, good at everything.

     
  6. The Babysitter

    November 6, 2008 at 4:14 pm

    It could be that their family is always so encouraging that they don’t realize that they don’t have the talent.

    I don’t know if you know of Malky Giniger, (see my Jewish song post with one of her songs), but she has a music school with over 300 students. What she says every time before a performance, is that these girls are there because they want to be, and she indirectly says that they might not have the best talent, but so long as they are enjoying it, that’s what counts.

    My HS had the same thing as frum college girl, with everyone trying out for choir.

     

Leave a Reply

 
