RSS

My Job is Better Than Your Job

24 Oct

I love my job.

 

I love teaching.

 

I love my students.

 

I love my subject.

 

But most of all,

 

I love my schedule.

 

Teaching in a Jewish Girls High School lends itself to the best schedule EVER.

 

I am off in the summer

 

I am off for two weeks in January and the entire June due to midterms and finals

 

I am off for mid-winter vacation and from Rosh Chodesh Nissan till after Isru Chag.

 

I have periods off so my students can go on G.O. trips, be inspired by speakers, work on lel iyun, yom iyun, play, chagiga and what not.

 

Never mind that on a regular day, I only start work at around 2:15, and I make just as much as my friends who work full time.

 

I just wanted to make you jealous.

 

Have a good Shabbos.

 
14 Comments

Posted by on October 24, 2008 in Teaching

 

Tags: , , , , ,

14 responses to “My Job is Better Than Your Job

  1. Mikeinmidwood

    October 24, 2008 at 12:47 pm

    You made my day.

     
  2. frumcollegegirl

    October 24, 2008 at 4:18 pm

    jealous, thanks

     
  3. The Babysitter

    October 24, 2008 at 4:34 pm

    Sounds like a great job.

    But if it’s so great….and you love it so much….then shouldn’t you want to work more? why so happy about all the vacation days?

    perhaps you can still love it and be happy to be off.

    But throughout HS I remember each teacher always made a whole big deal when we would miss their class, they would get all upset, and would want to teach. I always got annoyed by that, like they should give it a break and never saw it as a positive thing. But now I’m starting to see it as positive that they were dedicated to their jobs.

    One of my profs is making us come in on a Sunday to make up for all the yom tovim we missed. I thought stuff like that only happened in HS. But in college it makes more sense, since there is a shorter deadline.

     
  4. Child Ish Behavior

    October 24, 2008 at 5:11 pm

    So how is the pay?

     
  5. tooyoungtoteach

    October 24, 2008 at 6:01 pm

    It’s actually is really annoyingly frustrating when they take off periods. My curriculum is planned out to the T. I need exactly a certain amount of lesson for each topic I am covering and every time they knock off a period I need to re-evaluate my curriculum and see what lessons my students can do without.

    And I’m one of those know all, but tell none people…I know what all my friends are making, but no one knows what I’m coming home with…so I’m not very inclined to tell you what the pay is.

    Just BTW, Sukkos was over Wednesday, I’m not going back to work till Monday. 🙂

     
  6. kevintouhey

    October 25, 2008 at 6:09 am

    i give workshops and write for a living…i’m currently on the jersey shore writing my next book, i think my job might be better than yours..lol..seriously though, teaching is a lot of fun

     
  7. tooyoungtoteach

    October 26, 2008 at 7:18 am

    Ye, your job is better…I’d love your job, but I need a lot more experience, come back to me in 10 years.

     
  8. Anita

    October 26, 2008 at 9:37 am

    Sounds to me as if you’re convincing yourself!

    You know what they say about teachers… 😉

     
  9. Moshe

    October 26, 2008 at 10:21 pm

    Yeah, how’s the pay and is it on time?

     
  10. tooyoungtoteach

    October 26, 2008 at 10:36 pm

    Anita: I just having one of those “OMG I have so much marking, now kick yourself because you never had it so good”

    And Moshe: The pays good, and very on time, on Yom Tov, they mailed me my check.

     
  11. The Babysitter

    October 27, 2008 at 3:36 am

    TooToungToTeach: I would offer to help mark tests, I always wanted to do that.

     
  12. EndOfWorld

    October 27, 2008 at 5:01 am

    woooo, let’s not forget the scores of snotty kids that you have to wrestle into submission, the chutzpah you have to put up with, the nights spent marking papers, the time taken to make your lessons motivating, blah blah blah.

    switch to preschool
    most of the benefits you mentioned, with waaaaay less stress.

     
  13. halfshared

    October 30, 2008 at 9:35 pm

    I’m feeling sort of jealous right now. I have to practically beg for each vacation. Plus I don’t especially enjoy the line I’m in.
    I’m glad that you like your job because I think that it’s really important to like and find satisfaction in what you are doing.

     
  14. Bas~Melech

    November 2, 2008 at 6:20 am

    Hm. I think you’ve successfully made me jealous. If I were working, I could probably make more, but I’m not and I’d have to work harder for it anyway. OK – you win.

     

Leave a Reply

 
