RSS

Pithy Pumpkins

02 Oct

Families never let anyone live anything down, especially if it concerns your “future”.

 

A very long time ago (meaning 6 years ago), I burned a pot. A fish pot, to be exact. Oh, and the fish inside of it. The pot was incapacitated, and the fish thrown out. My family made fun me the entire Shabbos.

 

“….Hmmm, fish looks good 2yng2tch…”

 

“2yng2tch, you don’t forget when the new HP book is coming out do you”

 

“I feel for your husband.”

 

“If you pay me, I won’t tell anyone when they call for info on you” (never mind I was 14)

 

They weren’t particularly witty, pithy or smart, but they made their point.

 

And even though I haven’t burned a pot since, anytime I cook or bake anything (generally hard, complicated stuff), someone feels the need to say,

 

“Remember when 2yng2tch burned the pot?!, I feel for her husband!”

 

This happened yesterday after everyone “Oohed and Aahhed and Yummed” over my pumkin pie (yes, I know wrong Holiday)

 

I get it, I do. (The reason they feel the need to remind me, not that I get that I messed up 6 years ago [it doesn’t take me that long to “get” something])

 

But seriously if all you’re going to do is remember something obsolete, at least make it funny, sharp, or even snort-worthy.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on October 2, 2008 in Food, Shidduchim

 

Tags: , , , ,

8 responses to “Pithy Pumpkins

  1. Princess Lea

    October 2, 2008 at 4:08 pm

    I sooooo know what you mean; maybe that’s why I rarely cook. I melted a tupperware lid when I was twelve.
    But to have people dragging up ancient history and make another feel like an idiot is telling in other ways as well. What, you never made a mistake in your life? Wow. You should be analyzed by scientists.
    Nobody likes to have the few bloopers in their lives thrown back in their faces. Maybe that’s what people should be aware of in 5769—to have a little sensitivity.

     
  2. frumcollegegirl

    October 2, 2008 at 7:07 pm

    ha, there’s nothing like family to make sure you don’t every forget every embarrasing thing you’ve ever done!

     
  3. The Babysitter

    October 3, 2008 at 4:46 am

    See it’s very interesting, I used to notice by different groups of friends they would interact differently. There were certain types that would tease each other and make such remarks as your family did, I always took that as a sign that those friends were close with each other to be comfortable to make fun like that.

    But since it’s coming from family I can see how it might be a bit annoying hearing such comments, depending on your relationships with the family members.

    But inside perhaps it still feels good to be teased a little? even though it may be embarrassing to remember, the fact that they still remember counts as something. That they remember a detail of your life.

     
  4. tooyoungtoteach

    October 3, 2008 at 5:07 am

    I don’t really have a problem being teased, trust me, I do it plenty to my family and friends…but I do it with a sense of wit, maybe sarcasm, humor…it’s not just this dull “Oh let me remind you when you screwed up”

     
  5. The Babysitter

    October 3, 2008 at 5:23 am

    ahh I see what you mean, that makes sense.

    Same with jokes in general, I like when it’s a good chap, like something smart, and it leaves you with a feeling that the person who made it up was brilliant.

     
  6. Frum Hiker

    October 3, 2008 at 7:36 am

    What did you do with the fish resin from the pot?

    http://frumsatire.net

     
  7. tooyoungtoteach

    October 3, 2008 at 6:33 pm

    Flushed it down the toilet, what else was I supposed to do with it.

    It got a burial as honorable as any goldfish.

     
  8. Something Different

    February 1, 2009 at 6:08 pm

    You are supposed to be honored. If my family would try that on me I would throw back something like “well, it’s not my fault that I am so perfect the last mistake you have to remind me of was from when I was FOURTEEN. Gosh. Let’s discuss YOUR cooking attempt from last week now.” or a simple “well, I don’t have many faults so I try to make the most of the ones I DO have”

     

Leave a Reply

 
