RSS

The Perfect Post

23 Sep

 

I was flipping through some old stuff on Shabbos and found something that I wrote in 10th grade while I was bored in class. I liked it, so I’m going to share it with you.

 

The Perfect Day

 

When asked to describe a perfect day, I answer everyday. Everyday is perfect, because that’s how it was meant to be and wouldn’t have worked out any other way. I’m not saying this on a spiritual level(oh everything is beautiful, I love the world blah blah blah), but on a logical one. If I were to have a “lousy” day, that doesn’t make it not perfect, I just didn’t enjoy it.

 

Say there is an artist who draws a masterpiece of perfection. It’s beautiful they say, but when I look at it, it’s ugly, and stupid. But my thinking it’s ugly doesn’t take away from it’s beauty and perfection. It’s just lost to me, let someone else find the beauty in it.

 

Perfection is not subjective, if it was than it defeats the entire purpose of the word. Therefore, my own biases cannot be subjected to and hold when declaring something perfect. That being said, then nothing is perfect because everything is subjected to human opinion and bias. However I believe that if there is a general consensus on something then the label perfect can be applied, but only do things that are not man made, like a day, or nature (I basically just refuted my previous example of the artist, but never mind).

 

So getting back to the original question, the question itself is faulty, a better way to phrase it would be to ask, what is an ideal day. Ideal allows for subjectivity, so here is the answer you were looking for in the first place.

 

An ideal day for me would start out normal, clear skies, sun shining, nothing special. The day can be dead boring, me sleeping through every class, maybe even being told off. On the way home I can even miss the bus. Supper can be hop plop, like eggs and mashed potatoes or something. I can fight with my sister, kick my brother, get frustrated at my non-functioning computer, complain about school…but then something good happens. I can get a phone call from a camp friend, a cousin gets engaged, I win an auction for a Grundig radio on ebay, I go out for ice-cream. Anything, but something good happens. As long as the day ends on a happy note, it was ideal.

 

A simple day, for a well, not so simple me.

 

I’m happy.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on September 23, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

5 responses to “The Perfect Post

  1. The Babysitter

    September 23, 2008 at 10:43 pm

    That was very good!

    One thing I’ve noticed when I was in HS was that when I had a good day in school I always had a bad day at home, and when I had a bad day in school I had a good day at home, the 2 never seemed to work together. But your right so long as you go to sleep happy and can look back at the day in a good way then it is perfect.

     
  2. daughtersintheparsha

    September 24, 2008 at 5:36 am

    did you hate school as a teen?

     
  3. tooyoungtoteach

    September 24, 2008 at 5:42 am

    Oh yes!!!

    I was the worst kind of student. I didn’t make trouble, but I was completely apathetic. And sometimes for the fun of it, I’d mess with their heads by asking questions they couldn’t answer, or answer a hard question that no one else knew the answer to.

     
  4. JellybeanLover

    September 26, 2008 at 9:13 pm

    Babysitter: I have it the same way. At least Im not the only one that is happens to =)

     
  5. Amina

    September 29, 2008 at 8:05 pm

    thanks for your comment
    I really like the essay 🙂 nice point of view

     

Leave a Reply

 
