RSS

A Crying Shame

11 Sep

I cried twice today. A grand total of 7 tears. But my eyes welled up and leaked on two separate occasions, but the source was the same.

 

September 11th.

 

I was listening to the radio in the car.

 

They were reading the names.

A Hispanic woman spoke about her father who was a pastry chef in Windows of the World. His best dessert was marble cake and they used sit around the kitchen table talking about their lives, eating marble cake. It’s been seven years, and the life she spoke of is happening; she got married, gave birth to a child, is back in school…Every time she left her father would tell her in spanish, “I love you and go with God”. Today she wants to tell that to her father…and I cried.

 

Later, again I was listening in the car.

 

They were playing a montage of audio clips, news, peoples reactions, on 9/11. There was a slow mournful song playing in the background. And I cried again.

 

I slept through Tisha Ba’av.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 11, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “A Crying Shame

  1. frumcollegegirl

    September 11, 2008 at 11:22 pm

    hey i heard the same thing too about the woman and her dad. and it also brought tears to my eyes.

    as for sleeping through tisha b’av, it’s alot harder to mourn for something we never knew. when i think of the 9/11 attacks, i can picture the buildings in my mind, and i can hear the news reports, and see the pictures. and everyone knows someone who has a story about being there that day. we’re supposed to use modern day tragedies to help us mourn for the loss of the bhm’k becuase sorrow only exists in the world becuase it lies in shambles.

     
  2. Mikeinmidwood

    September 12, 2008 at 12:48 am

    I have a heart of stone and listening to this doesnt make me sad it only makes me think how vulnerable we really are.

     
  3. tooyoungtoteach

    September 12, 2008 at 1:06 am

    FrmCllgGrl: I know I’m supposed to use modern tragedies, but on Tisha Ba’av, I couldn’t relate. Maybe this coming year I will…but right now, I’m holding here.

    Mike: Yeah, that too, but first I cry.

     
  4. The Babysitter

    September 12, 2008 at 7:38 pm

    I haven’t listened to the radio on September 11, so I didn’t hear any stories. I should have. One professor spoke about it before he began class.

    But also another thing is Tisha B’av is a fast day so its hard to think about anything beside the fact that your hungry, so you sleep through it to not have to think about food. But also what Frum college girl said, that 9/11 is easier to relate to, because its part of something you have lived through. If you would watch videos about how the B”Hamikdash was destroyed and other sad stuff, you wouldn’t just cry, but you would get inspired to improve yourself. You just need the visualizations. I liked going to the video stuff by R’ Pesach Krohn and others a couple of years ago, sponsored by the Chofetz chaim organization I think. Or even any speaker speaking about it, it helps you feel something, it awakens you. Otherwise it just seems like another day. Same here, that you heard it on the radio, you heard the stories, that’s what made you cry. If you wouldn’t have heard any stories it would have just been like a regular day, with a memory of what the day is, but no crying.

     

Leave a Reply

 
