RSS

Disclaimer: This is Stupid

05 Sep

Just so you know, this is really stupid.

 

Actually I don’t think so, I’m just using this as a defense mechanism. So if I’m stupid, I warned you, and you don’t think less of me. And if it’s not, well, I seem very modest and self depreciating.

 

Every SINGLE one of my students who got up in front of my class today to read their writing prefaced with a sentence of the sort. Yes, some of them of them were stupid, but quite a few of them were really good. And it makes me feel bad that these girls feel the need to sell themselves short.

 

The one’s who are good, know they’re good. They do.

 

But girls are taught so much to be modest, and “bragging” is a cardinal sin. Bragging is one thing, but acknowledging what you’re good at, taking ownership of your talents and using them is another.

 

It frustrates me.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on September 5, 2008 in Teaching

 

Tags: , , , ,

9 responses to “Disclaimer: This is Stupid

  1. The Babysitter

    September 5, 2008 at 12:31 pm

    I notice that happens all the time.

    It sorta relates to the “I don’t care” attitude, also used as a defense mechanism.

    That is exactly what’s happened, kids are taught to be modest and not brag, then their self confidence gets lower, and they don’t think they can really be so good.

    It’s like that story with the person who went int a Kindergarten room and asked the children how many of them can draw, almost all raised their hand. Then when she asked the older kids, maybe one or 2 raised their hand.

     
  2. Esther Ed

    September 5, 2008 at 8:00 pm

    everyone is insecure

     
  3. EndOfWorld

    September 7, 2008 at 12:46 am

    Would you prefer for them to stand up and say” hey, this is awesome!” and then have them read a piece of trash? This way, at least, if it’s good you can correct them, and if it really is stupid, you don’t have to say anything

     
  4. tooyoungtoteach

    September 7, 2008 at 1:56 am

    My point is, for the ones that actaully have the talent, don’t use the disclaimer.

    You don’t have to advertise yourself, we’ll know if you’re good or not, but you degrade yourself and insult other people by putting up a disclaimer if it’s unnecassary.

     
  5. EndOfWorld

    September 7, 2008 at 11:12 pm

    It’s actually called fishing for compliment, no? They’re waiting for everyone to say, “noo, what are you talking about, it’s awesome, etc etc”

     
  6. tooyoungtoteach

    September 9, 2008 at 11:28 pm

    EndofWorld: true, some of them are like that, but most of them are just insecure, or too nervous that they’ll sound boastful.

    Writing is very subjective to opinion, so people are very hesitant to say they’re a good writer, just in case the other person completely disagrees.

     
  7. audaciously correcting a writing teacher

    September 24, 2008 at 1:49 am

    “The ones who are good know they’re good.”

    Just a suggestion.

    (love the smiley face up n east)

     
  8. tooyoungtoteach

    September 24, 2008 at 3:47 am

    It’s ok. This is not the first time I messed up with my there, their and they’re. Not because I don’t know the rules, I just don’t pay attention, or do much editing on this blog. 🙂

     
  9. The Babysitter

    September 24, 2008 at 3:57 am

    This coming from an English teacher 🙂

    “Not because I don’t know the rules, I just don’t pay attention, or do much editing on this blog.”

    Same by me. I think if someone truly reads the content then they won’t pick up on the “their, there, and they’re”

     

Leave a Reply

 
