RSS

Smiling Sap

02 Sep

I’m doing my principal a big a favor.

She asked.

I said no problem, because it wasn’t.

 

People chastised me.

 

“You should have hemmed and hawed, even if you could do it, make her tzitor”

“You should have used it as a bargaining tool.”

“You should have held out a little longer”

“Make her beg”

“Get what you can out of her.”

 

Am I the only one who sees something wrong with this approach?

 

Some people call it good practical business tactics, I say it’s rude and calculating.

 

Am I just being naïve?

 

 

 

 

 

 
11 Comments

Posted by on September 2, 2008 in Teaching

 

Tags: , ,

11 responses to “Smiling Sap

  1. Child Ish Behavior

    September 2, 2008 at 9:23 am

    It really depends doesn’t it?

    If you take the view that the people you work for are paying you a wage for the work that you do and anything that they ask for extra should be paid for then Yes, you are in the wrong. You got taken advantage of, because you will now be doing something and not be paid for it.

    However, if you take the view that you are doing this job because that is what you want to be doing and the pay is an added bonus at the end, then by asking you to do something without getting something in return is just a nice thing to do on your part.

    But maybe I’m just being a little too cold and calculating.

     
  2. tooyoungtoteach

    September 2, 2008 at 12:57 pm

    I take your view, except, I’m doing anything extra; I’m just switching aroung two periods for two months…same work, different time..it actually works out better for me.

     
  3. Mikeinmidwood

    September 2, 2008 at 3:01 pm

    Then everything is good in the end. why take advantage? although you could take advantage I wouldnt.

     
  4. The Babysitter

    September 2, 2008 at 3:44 pm

    Too Young To Teach: I agree with you.

    When people say such stuff it seems rude. If you don’t mind, then why make the other person suffer? What gain do you get from the other person begging?

     
  5. tooyoungtoteach

    September 2, 2008 at 4:13 pm

    Babysitter: I’d have the upper hand and make this a bit of a “powe struggle”. Show who’s really in charge…but I don’t feel the need to do that. I know where I am in the totem pole, I don’t need to prove it.

    If it had been a problem, I would have let her know, but it wasn’t so why bother with the back and forth. It messes up solid working relationships when people feel they have to “position” themselves.

     
  6. The Babysitter

    September 2, 2008 at 5:34 pm

    Too Young To Teach: Exactly

     
  7. EndOfWorld

    September 2, 2008 at 10:24 pm

    There’s nothing wrong with it. There, you have been vindicated 🙂

     
  8. Child Ish Behavior

    September 2, 2008 at 10:33 pm

    I’m just going to go out there and say that positioning happens anyway whether you want to or not. If you don’t get the upper had in the business deal, the other party will. In the end your way may work out because now you can ask a favor of the principal later on. So in a way you too were positioning yourself to ask a favor later on. So you did what can be called soft bargaining. The only Chesed Shel Emes is helping a dead person who will never have the chance to repay you.

     
  9. tooyoungtoteach

    September 2, 2008 at 10:49 pm

    Thanks for the perspective Child Ish, just when I think I’m being good, there’s always an ulterior motive….

     
  10. Jacob da Jew

    September 3, 2008 at 2:14 pm

    Thanks for visiting da blog.

    “In the end your way may work out because now you can ask a favor of the principal later on. So in a way you too were positioning yourself to ask a favor later on. So you did what can be called soft bargaining.”

    I agree with what CIB says.

     
  11. pain full e-tall

    September 3, 2008 at 6:27 pm

    I just want to say that you are 100 “pro-cent” right.
    Just because someone is desperate, does not mean you should and have to take advantage of them, even if it means you walk away with a little less.

     

Leave a Reply

 
