RSS

Wimpy Wedding Woes

29 Aug
I went to a wedding tonight; there weren’t a lot of girls there. One girl told me she was sticking around longer than she planned on because there were so few people.

More girls means more popular.

More popular means more people like you.

People like you because you’re nice.

You are nice, and good and therefore worthy of getting married.

Ergo having a lot of girls at your wedding is a validation of the kallah to her mother-in law that she is worthy of her son.

Personally, I find the less girls, the more fun the wedding is. The kallah gets to actually focus and talk to her friends instead of making sure she dances with everyone, or everyone edging themselves out to be sure to dance with her. The dancing is more intense because it’s a more intimate crowd. The people who are there, are there because they want to be there, not out of obligation to an old high school chevra that is long extinct, or product of a small seminary.

I have two weddings in mind of two friends, one massive, the other tiny. Hate to be rude, but the small one was SOOOO much nicer, even if the massive one had better food, a better band, and better dressed people. The atmosphere was so different based on the amount of people there.

I know my wedding is going to be one of those massive ones, because my family on both sides is HUGE, but I do kinda wish I’d have a small one, where I can talk to my friends and close family without being exclusive…and without having people stick around because (whisper) “there are no girls…”

 

 
7 Comments

Posted by on August 29, 2008 in Weddings

 

Tags: , , , ,

7 responses to “Wimpy Wedding Woes

  1. Child Ish Behavior

    August 29, 2008 at 2:55 am

    You said it best at the end. The size of the wedding is based on how big the family is not on how nice the person actually is.

    Though not being married, and not being popular, and not being a girl, I really don’t know.

     
  2. Mikeinmidwood

    August 29, 2008 at 3:15 am

    If the wedding is going to be big than you have to invite people who you really dont know but have seen around once in a while.

     
  3. tooyoungtoteach

    August 29, 2008 at 4:01 am

    Child Ish: That’s my case, not everyone’s. And my point is that the “nice” is a social syllogism .

    Mike: You’re touching on tommorrow’s topic…give me a chance.

     
  4. EndOfWorld

    August 31, 2008 at 12:03 am

    Hey, Sporadic, if this is a subtle way of letting me know that I wont have to find a babysitter, find someone to drive me, and shlep out to your wedding, thanks:)

     
  5. tooyoungtoteach

    August 31, 2008 at 12:50 am

    No, it’s not hint…but in any case, you better make it when the time comes.

     
  6. Frum Punk

    August 31, 2008 at 3:09 am

    The wedding on my side will be tiny if its anywhere but England. Most of my friends are in America so if its in England they cant come but all my cousins can, and vica versa, if its in America I’ll have my friends but not my family. Israel would probably strike a good balance. Guess it depends on the girl though, dont you get married wherever shes from?

     
  7. tooyoungtoteach

    August 31, 2008 at 3:16 am

    Sorry for your catch 22…and yes generally it’s the girl that makes the chasunah and therefore has the choice of venues…but elaboration is cutting into my upcoming post, so hold the thought. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
