RSS

“I Feel Good”

26 Aug

I just found out that there are three things in this world that are “Me’ein Olam Ha’abah”. We petty mortals can get a whiff of the world to come…how cool is that. So the three things are Shabbos, walking in the sunlight, and going to the bathroom. Chazal said this eons ago, and I would modernize it by including, taking off high heels.

Of the three, a person can only experience two of them at the same time. Unless you are walking in the sunlight on shabbos while relieving yourself, you are a weird, free- spirit, eewy hobo-type person, and you don’t count.

For the first two, the preparation for them is pretty painless. It’s instant gratification.

It’s not Shabos, then it is, the transition is easy.

You’re walking in the shade, and then there is direct sunlight.

Transitioning is painless, easy, calming…

With going to the bathroom, it’s the one that I understand and appreciate the most… but I hate waking up in the morning with that pre me’ein olam ha’abah feeling.

 
14 Comments

Posted by on August 26, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

14 responses to ““I Feel Good”

  1. EndOfWorld

    August 26, 2008 at 6:11 pm

    Hooray! You’re back! Now I can once again feel self conscious about my abuse of the english language.

    Anyway, I’ve never heard that one about the sunlight.

    As for heels-I’ve never understood the joy people derive from shucking off those contraptions, when they know good and well how bad their feet will feel when they’re putting them on.

     
  2. tooyoungtoteach

    August 26, 2008 at 6:17 pm

    Once again, the benifits outweigh the cost…heels just make your legs look that good. Make you hold yourself with such posture (assuming you can walk in them)…also you get to experience as I defined, “me’ein olam ha’bah” when you take them off…

     
  3. EndOfWorld

    August 26, 2008 at 8:20 pm

    Hmmm.

    a) So do back braces, or just standing up straight
    b) I would question that if you’re deliberately putting yourself in a situation that will cause yourself pain. It’s not the same pleasure if you know you did it to yourself

     
  4. tooyoungtoteach

    August 26, 2008 at 9:34 pm

    Back braces stick out and are unsightly, heels are not.

    Also, there is a pleasure in wearing heels. Most of the time you don’t realize how much they are hurting until you take them off. Therefore you get all the benefits…easy transition…

     
  5. Child Ish Behavior

    August 27, 2008 at 5:50 am

    I’m going to put it out there and say that you ladies have to be a little crazy to put up with all the pain just to look a few inches taller.

     
  6. tooyoungtoteach

    August 27, 2008 at 6:06 am

    It has nothing to do with height, it’s the overall effect, height just happens to be sideffect.

    I’m not going to reccomend that you start checking out women legs and notice the difference between heels or not…but there is quite a differencce.

    Besides half of the effect is psychological on the wearer’s part, which tranfers over to their actions, presentation,mood, etc.

     
  7. The Babysitter

    August 27, 2008 at 10:07 am

    One of my teachers in HS once told us how heels make the posture better, and she said we are supposed to wear heals, I was surprised she would say such a thing, because of her personality.

    I only knew shabbos was Mein Olam Haba, I didn’t know about the other 2.

    But why does there have to be a transition? Once you have it its good enough, you shouldn’t need the before and after to appreciate it more. Automatically there is a before and after. Like with eating great food, before you didn’t have it, now you do. There’s no real transition, but yet you can appreciate it so much.

     
  8. Mikeinmidwood

    August 27, 2008 at 11:44 am

    I know the Mein Olam Habah feeling on shabbos and when releiving yourself but the sunlight walk? are you sure youve got the right sources.

     
  9. tooyoungtoteach

    August 27, 2008 at 2:12 pm

    Babysitter: I was saying that I appreciate relieving oneself the most, because I think thats the one that I feel probably more on the basest of level….although I do love the sun (awesome tan from camp) Shabbos, while I love it, I can’t say I FEEL something major.

    But on appreciating things…read R’ Akiva Tatz’s book “Living Inspired” and you’ll get a different perspective on how much you appreciate things and why.

     
  10. tooyoungtoteach

    August 27, 2008 at 2:13 pm

    Mike: I don’t know if you have to be walking in the sunlight, but direct exposure to sunlight is one of them…interesting because most people I mentioned this to knew Shabbos and the sun, but not reliveing yourself.

     
  11. The Babysitter

    August 28, 2008 at 6:07 pm

    TooYoungToTeach: Your right.

    R’ Akiva Tatz, that name sounds familiar, who is he?

     
  12. tooyoungtoteach

    August 28, 2008 at 8:32 pm

    He’s a Rabbi who speaks, and wrote a few books…my 12 grade Navi teacher bought me his book to read in her class when I kept falling asleep on her…don’t mind the cliche, but the book changed my life.

     
  13. The Babysitter

    August 28, 2008 at 11:19 pm

    That’s so interesting that your teacher bought you that book to read instead of listening to her class, she must of felt it was more important, so then it must be good. I’ll check it out. I think I remember hearing good things about him.

     
  14. tooyoungtoteach

    August 29, 2008 at 1:06 am

    Yeah, he’s excellent.
    That teacher was one of the good guys; not so stuck on her subject, but on me learning.

     

Leave a Reply

 
