RSS

Non-Jewish Musical

04 Aug

So, I’m heading a SongDance, bit of a last minute favor.

I’ve never done this type of thing before; so far I’m having fun.

 

In any case, the song we’re using is from a musical.

 

I love how because I’m the goy, I’m expected to have known the song.

 

And when I didn’t, I was expected to have Blockbuster card to rent the dvd to see it—I  don’t have one.

 

Forget about that; it comes with the territory.

 

I still haven’t figured out though, why it’s okay to use “Non-Jewish” sources.

 

The Rock, The Music Man, Bond, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, Lord of the Dance, Guys and Dolls, Cinderella, Sound of Music, Oliver Twist, Pearl Harbor, Pirates of the Caribbean, Newsies, Hercules, Lion King. Thoroughly Modern Millie, Les Miserables, Wicked, Abba, Fiddler on the Roof….these are just the first few that popped into my head.

 

Not that I’m well versed in them, but people feel the need to tell me where everything is from because, of course, they assume I know it already.

 

All of a sudden “Chachma ba’goyim ta’amin”?

 

Pick a side!

 

What happened, when I wanted to teach The Verger, Gary Soto’s poetry, Jane Yolen’s “Fat is not a FairyTale”, when I wanted to quote Bernard Shaw, and when the Scarlet Pimpernel was nixed too?

 

You tell me.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on August 4, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Non-Jewish Musical

  1. The Babysitter

    August 27, 2008 at 11:06 am

    Same happened with me, by my HS play, I was known to be the goy who had internet, so they asked me to find a song that they can use for the song dance.

     
  2. tooyoungtoteach

    August 27, 2008 at 2:21 pm

    How nice of them 🙂
    It was funny actually, because the entire camp thought I was a musical genius after they saw the songdance because it was so different they assumed I made everything up, song included.

     
  3. The Babysitter

    August 28, 2008 at 6:12 pm

    That’s funny, I’m sure you enjoyed the fame a bit.

     
  4. tooyoungtoteach

    August 28, 2008 at 8:27 pm

    Yeah, it was pretty cool. Not so much for the fame, but was the first time I ever headed anything, I’m usually just in things. And for it to be such a success, was well…cool.

     
  5. The Babysitter

    August 28, 2008 at 11:23 pm

    Yea, cause its like your project and it worked out, so its a good feeling. That is cool.

     

Leave a Reply

 
