RSS

Criteria for Success

03 Aug

I love being the “goy” in camp. It gives me carte blanche to say and do anything I want.

 

The interesting thing is the criteria that makes me “the goy”

 

I don’t have any t-shirts with collars.

 

My t-shirts are orange, green, blue, yellow, red…not black, white, pink, lavender or whatever “fine” colors everyone else is wearing.

 

I wear real running sneakers, not pumas.

 

I don’t own a single alligator or horsy product.

 

I go running

 

I wear denim skirts and tube socks

 

I go swimming, and I’m not a lifeguard.

 

Also, I’m not self conscience enough to wear shorts when I swim

 

I’m reading Alice in Wonderland instead of “Blackout” or “Ransom” or whatever dramatically sounding cliché is out in the Jewish bookstores today.

 

I have a hairstyle, instead of the blunt cut, in a high bump, that adds three inches to anyone sporting it.

 

I wear high heels.

 

When the guest speaker asks if anyone remembers the Alamo, I was the only one who said yes, and gave him a brief history.

 

I know how to sing, really sing, not Bais Yaakov sing, so I actually sound good.

 

I know what a podcast is.

 

…I’m trying to figure out, what’s the significance, and I can’t. But meanwhile, I’m enjoying my status.

 

…and the best part is when people ask me what my job is,

 

I smile sincerely and say “Shiur counselor.”

 

The bug-out eyes, and slack-jawed reaction is priceless.

 

Everytime.

 

 

 
8 Comments

Posted by on August 3, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Criteria for Success

  1. manly lips

    August 3, 2008 at 6:32 pm

    This blog is really entertaining – I like this post the best so far. How an aidel maidel like me got to be friends with you is beyoooooond me!
    Have fun 😉

     
  2. The Babysitter

    August 27, 2008 at 11:09 am

    I’ve felt like this too, its funny.
    But you really were the shiur counselor?

     
  3. tooyoungtoteach

    August 27, 2008 at 2:25 pm

    Yes, I was really their Shiur counselor, for the oldest age group, no less.

    My bunk actually wrote me a letter thanking me for being the best, most different, normal shiur counselor they ever had, who didn’t use shiur prep and made up her own material etc.

    Girls who were mother’s helpers and were exempt because they had the kids, would bring their kids to shiur….am I bragging?

     
  4. The Babysitter

    August 28, 2008 at 6:15 pm

    Wow, that’s great, I’m so proud of you, that’s really cool!

    That’s not bragging at all.

    It’s been a long time since I’ve been to camp, I’ve never worked in camp, just went as a camper for a couple of years. But I do remember having good Shiur counselors.

    Actually, one of my friends was a shiur counselor in a camp this past summer, and I couldn’t imagine it, because I just know of her as being on my level, she was a classmate of mine, so I can’t picture her teaching other kids.

    But anyways, sounds like you did a great job!

     
  5. tooyoungtoteach

    August 28, 2008 at 8:23 pm

    Thanks! I had a amazing time doing it too…

    but I know what you mean, it’s hard to see some people in certain positions…if you knew me, it’s not hard to see me as a teacher, or someone spiritual, but a little interesting to see me in such a mainstream environment.

     
  6. The Babysitter

    August 28, 2008 at 11:24 pm

    Your Welcome! That’s good you enjoyed it.

    What do you mean mainstream environment?

     
  7. tooyoungtoteach

    August 29, 2008 at 1:04 am

    Mainstream, is the wrong word, typical is better. A typical camp, very Brooklynee, Boro Parky…

     
  8. The Babysitter

    September 2, 2008 at 3:41 pm

    ahh I see, typical is the better word.

     

Leave a Reply

 
