RSS

All Tried Out

01 Aug

I can’t decide if I should be impressed or sympathetic with some children’s confidence.

 

I’ve been sitting in on play tryouts and it’s hysterical. Excellent material.

 

Today’s discussion: The child that has no talent, and sincerely thinks she has a shot.

 

She’ll swagger up to us

 

“I want to try out” she says and then shifts her weight from one hip to the other and puts one hand on that hip. We smile, already identifying the type, ask her name and hand her a script.

 

Then she might say a variety of things.

 

“I was in cantata first half” (yeah, as a tree {seriously})

“I’m very funny”

“All my friends think I should try out”

 

 We nod and smile tightly

 

And she starts to read.

And we start having muscle spasms.

My cheeks hurt so much. Not from laughter, but from trying to contain it.

 

When they attempt to sing it’s even better. You’d expect girls from the ages of 11-15 to know the words to hamalch hagoel, and yaaleh ve’yavo. Apparently, I have high expectations, because ye’varech has morphed into ye’baneitz. And ve’yishuma, is now ve’yidama.

 

Of course they all start out with “I’m hoarse.”

It gets better with those who tell you “I take voice lesson” (They should demand a refund!!)

The girls sing too softly, start to high, try to start the high parts on a lower key, as though we wouldn’t notice (they end up squeaking anyway). Or they’re just plain old tone deaf…

And when they finish they look at us in earnest, waiting for us to sing their praises.

 

Enough of me making fun of them. The question is, should I admire them for their confidence to try, even though they beautifully awful, or should I smile sympathetically at their delusions of grandeur?

 

I’m not sure.

 

Really.

 

 

 

 
5 Comments

Posted by on August 1, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

5 responses to “All Tried Out

  1. The Babysitter

    August 27, 2008 at 11:13 am

    I think they get praised for trying out.
    I would be afraid to be judged by you.

    They do say the smart people don’t brag about their smartness. Like “Quiet waters run deep”. So the ones who actually came to try out, might of just been making a lot of noise, but there was no substance there.

     
  2. tooyoungtoteach

    August 27, 2008 at 2:27 pm

    Oh, I was very nice to every kid who tried out, smiling, encouraging them, but I have to be honest in my thought.

    And you’re right, the most unassuming kids were the best.

     
  3. The Babysitter

    August 28, 2008 at 6:19 pm

    right, you could be honest in your thought so long as your careful in how you treat them.

    btw, I didn’t realize you had more older posts, cause it doesn’t show all of it on the side, I only looked at the ones that were listed. Now I know I have more to read, gonna get to it…

     
  4. tooyoungtoteach

    August 28, 2008 at 8:18 pm

    you gotta check the archives…

     

Leave a Reply

 
