RSS

Compact Stress

28 Jul

Packing for camp is too stressful for me.

 

I feel like all my possessions are playing hiding-o-seek with me.

 

“Ha ha,” the chant, “you can’t find me!” And then there are those things you forget about completely, like toenail clippers.

 

You might have figured out that I’m packing for camp. Three points for you.

 

Packing makes me cranky.

I hate dragging the suitcase out of the back closet. Of course it’s the worst suitcase. With the broken wheel because my siblings who are in camp the whole summer had first dibs.

I hate refolding thing so it fits in better.

 I hate double wrapping my shampoo.

I hate having to decide what nosh I want to survive on this year.

I hate thinking I have enough room and I really don’t.

I hate trying to close the suitcase, but it doesn’t go until I enlist the help of my father. I hate the retarded mess in my room.

I hate having to count if I have enough underwear to last the duration.

I hate having to figure out how many Shabbos outfits I need, how casual can I get away with, and will anyone notice if I repeat?

I hate calculating how much clothing I have to leave over for myself to wear from the time they take my luggage till I get to camp (a whole 20 hours!)

 

AURGHHH!!!!

 

Anywhoo…I’m almost done, Thank G-D!

 

On that note, I’m not sure if I can keep this blog going through August, as the camp I’m going to has no internet access. I’m working on something though. I’d appreciate your comments and critiques. Have a good one!

 

 

 

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 28, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “Compact Stress

  1. friend from class, college class that is

    July 29, 2008 at 12:34 am

    Hey ****** ******** *********(what, you think I’m going to write your real name? ps-I added some letters to confuse people.)! I forgot that you’re going away to camp.

    Well, three words: enjoy and g’luck (really four words, but thank Gd for contractions). And another three words: hahahahaahahhahhahahhahahahahahahhahaha bwahahahahahhahahahahahhahahhah hhhheeeeeeeeeeeehooooooooooohhhoohohheeeaahhaaaaaa
    I’m so glad I’m not going

    love, your friend (who gave you the hot tip of how to sign up for classes without having to pay that retarded fee…if you don’t remember who I am, there’s a poke waiting for you when we get back to school, err, class.)

     
  2. manly lips

    July 29, 2008 at 6:28 pm

    YAY – packing means you should be dancin with joy… the boredom’s almost over!
    see you soon!

     
  3. halfshared

    July 30, 2008 at 3:19 pm

    I am so glad I stumbled across your blog. I look forward to reading what you have to say.
    P.S. I would switch places with you today. Ah, if I had the opportunity to go to camp! That is an unattainable dream for me as I work for 12 months a year..and that’s been going on for 5 years. So yes, I’m tired!
    Enjoy every minute of it!

     
  4. friend from class, college class that is

    July 31, 2008 at 12:42 am

    Actually, I’ve never found going away (to camp, that is) to be relaxing. First off, you’re going away to be a counselor, which means you have to mother/janitor/physchiologize/discipline/love a bunch of students who spend the first half of the summer being homesick and the second half of the summer being sick/fighting with each other.

    Second off, you forget how bad camp grounds are-and bad I mean waking-up-to-find-daddy-long-legs-staring-back-at-you and having to shake out your shoes before sticking your feet inside or having your stockings snag on every doorway, chair or tree

    Now going away to relax-that would be nice….:)
    But, hey, I’m sure 2yng2tch has thought this through and will have an awesome time in camp. send regards to the mosquitoes

     

Leave a Reply

 
