RSS

The Problem with Nostalgia

31 Mar

It was this book!

It’s really terrible; there’s an Ebola outbreak in Guinea and I’m getting nostalgic. This hemorrhagic fever has held legendary status in my mind since about 4th or 5th grade. I heard about it from my brother who heard about it from his teacher.

“Nine days. Boom. Dead!” he bulged his eyes out and flexed then flicked his fingers at the word boom for effect. He was imitating his teacher. He then described to a rapt audience (me) how when they cut the person open everything would just be mush. All their organs turned to goop.

“It starts with diarrhea…” he said in a low voice and then rose to “And then nine days, Boom. Dead!”

I’ve been paranoid of diarrhea since.

And then Mack Bolan (are those books still in print?), who was my brother’s favorite fictional character at the time, was infected with the virus by a sinister foe, but he had the antidote in the green tipped syringe (or was it red? I don’t remember, one of them was the virus the other the antidote) and he lived.

I didn’t like Mack Bolan,too much action and machismo, but I took that book and read the last chapter or so, just to take in more about Ebola. I’m not sure why it fascinated me. Was is my brother’s animation or the body’s disintegration, or the anticipatory fear, I don’t know.

I don’t know if anything that hooked me in the first place is even true. Diarrhea only comes after joint pain muscle weakness and an assortment of other symptoms. And nothing comes up when I Google Ebola 9 day. Maybe it’s because I left out the word Boom.

But while Liberia is closing its borders, and the WHO is issuing recommendations and people are dying, I have a small smile on my face.

I’m terrible, I know.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 31, 2014 in The Sporadic Side

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “The Problem with Nostalgia

  1. jen

    March 31, 2014 at 9:41 pm

    you are! remember that paper i did in high school that i got a C on? this competes :)

     
    • TooYoungToTeach

      March 31, 2014 at 10:23 pm

      I’m trying to decide which is worse, while your piece was fiction, your character killed his brother (accidentally, on purpose) While mine is true, but I’m just insensitive and callous, not infecting anyone with red tipped syringes. ;)

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 250 other followers

